2500 28th Street - PO Box 57 - Slayton, MN 56172

Des Moines River Watershed One Watershed, One Plan

Update: Des Moines River Watershed Comprehensive Watershed Management Plan for approval by the Minnesota Board of Water and Soils Resources”

Comprehensive Watershed Management Plan
Comments received and responses during Plan development.

What is1W1P?
Local governments have worked hard over the years to protect and restore our water resources through planning efforts within each county. In recent years, the Minnesota Board of Soil and Water Resources encouraged local governments to partner with neighboring counties to work across jurisdictional boundaries and plan resources on a watershed wide scale. This process is called One Watershed One Plan (1W1P). The goal of this effort is to develop a comprehensive watershed management plan that targets projects to protect and restore the watershed’s most valuable resources.

Who is involved?
The Des Moines River 1W1P partners include Cottonwood, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Lyon, and Pipestone Counties & Soil & Water Conservation Districts and the Heron Lake Watershed District. The effort will be led by the Steering Team made up of local and State agency staff. Our Policy Committee, made up of elected officials from the County Boards, SWCD Boards, and the Watershed District Board, will approve the content of the plan, serve as a liaison to their representative governing entities, and act on behalf of their constituents. An Advisory Committee will also be formed, to provide input to the Policy Committee.

Want to know more? 
Contact Murray County Environmental Services Office, Jackson Soil & Water Conservation District, or your local government. 

DMR Watershed boundary Map

About the Des Moines River Watershed
Located in Southwest Minnesota, the Des Moines River Watershed (DRW), encompasses 3 major (HUC-8) watersheds in southwestern Minnesota.

  • Headwaters of Des Moines River (07100001)
  • Lower Des Moines River (07100002)
  • East Fork Des Moines River (07100003)

In total, these three watersheds drain 983,719 acres of land from Minnesota and include portions of Cottonwood, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Lyon, and Pipestone counties. The Basin borders the Redwood and Cottonwood River watersheds to the north. The western edge of the Des Moines River Basin borders the Missouri River basin. And lastly, the eastern edge of the Des Moines River basin borders the Watonwan River and Blue Earth River Watersheds.

Land and Water Resources Narrative

One Watershed One Plan Logo